Arm balances and patience

We were made to do arm balances in class the other day and, well, I was up and flying for a fraction of a second and, bam, I was barely able to keep my chin from hitting the floor. Of course, I was frustrated. I’d been practicing the crane pose at home for quite some time in the past and was able to stay up for five breaths. It’s true what they say: If you don’t use it, you lose it. And since I have been neglecting my home practice, it wasn’t surprising at all when I *almost* fell face down on the floor.

Now, I am NOT and will never be a paragon of patience. Everyone who knows me well can attest to this. I want things done now and done right. This attitude can be viewed as a plus in the corporate world but detrimental to one’s mental health. Relationships could also get unnecessarily cumbersome and exhausting because of (my) impatience.

If there’s one thing I need to learn, it’s to be gentle on myself and with others. Breathe when waiting my turn at the ATM.  Let all the elevator passengers out before I enter (One of my colleagues is so anal about this and thinks it’s rude of me not to wait. I’m starting to get swayed toward agreeing with him instead of thinking people are too slow when getting out, haha!).

Arm balances require a strong core, open shoulders, a flexible spine and tons of patience. All of which I will have one day.

About Louie-An

Hello. My name is Louie-An and this is a record of my thoughts and observations on my own yoga practice. I am not a yoga teacher, so please view these as musings of an ardent yogini who wants to monitor her progress as a practitioner. These entries are not meant to be instructional in any way. If I do offer a few tips, please work with a certified and experienced yoga teacher before trying them out. Also, feel free to share your own experiences with me so we can learn from each other. I hope you enjoy reading the posts as much as I do writing them. Namaste.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment