2012 Challenge: How to Surrender

Photo by HaPe_Gera

This is a lesson I have been trying to learn for most of my life. I got into yoga because I needed a practice that would teach me to let go and be okay with the world despite the pain, disappointment and fear that lurked in every corner. Learning how to find joy and deal with loss have been the central themes of my life. I’m happy to report that I’m doing better these days.

In 2011, I got to see more of the world, met new people, gained new friends and kept old ones. I became more serious about my yoga practice and set some pretty lofty goals for myself. I went through some major changes at work and survived. Most significant of all, I lost my grandfather and uncle, events that strengthened my resolve to live each day like it’s the last. Through my grandmother’s example, I’m learning the true meaning of acceptance and resilience.

The challenge I am giving myself for 2012 is complete surrender to the will of the Universe (or God for some). Of course, I have goals: I do have plans and I intend to see them through. There may be times when I’d have to make difficult decisions or maybe even gear up for a fight — these are part of the dynamics of surrender. But my life will not be governed by struggle, grasping and clinging. Like river water trying to find its way to the ocean, my every move will be certain, but fluid. Wish me luck.

Have a blessed New Year.

About Louie-An

Hello. My name is Louie-An and this is a record of my thoughts and observations on my own yoga practice. I am not a yoga teacher, so please view these as musings of an ardent yogini who wants to monitor her progress as a practitioner. These entries are not meant to be instructional in any way. If I do offer a few tips, please work with a certified and experienced yoga teacher before trying them out. Also, feel free to share your own experiences with me so we can learn from each other. I hope you enjoy reading the posts as much as I do writing them. Namaste.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

